On hiatus – Sorry & Name Corrections


I’m sorry. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to scanlate again. Life just caught me up.

There might be a friend of mine who may be able to take this group after me. But she hasn’t replied yet. If she agrees to, then she will start on Acacia again.

Or I might be a fickle again and change my mind.

OK. Below is something I been wanting to post since…after the 1st chapter of Acacia. But I just keep procrastinate.

It’s about the names. On the 1st chapter, I was kind of stupid so I just …. Anyway below is the explanation. It was copy and paste from something I typed up since … a few days after the 1st chapter.

If you know Japanese, you know how foreign words are written in Katakana.

I was stupid the last time for not realizing the names are foreign words. So when the names didn’t make sense to me, I just basically create my own o-O (and “stole” from the other raw source and MangaUpdates synopsis.)
Today, I was going through my Japanese stuff and suddenly had an “insight” realization that they didn’t make sense because they are foreign words!

So here are the corrections. Please bear in mind that I’m not 100% sure if they should be modified or just leave it like that.

Please understand that I live here, in the US, so my exposure to Korean is mostly limited to paper and pencil, if you know what I mean.

Corrections:

Acacia: It’s really A-k’a-shi-a. But since MangaUpdates use Acacia so I guess that’s more correct in terms of English-like.
‘ denotes aspiration

The Hittite Prince: Lee-U-Seu
But I’ll type it without the dashes. Leeuseu

The Egyptian King: Ra-me-se-seu
When I say it, it kind of sounds like Rameth-ish. So I’ll use that. I like it because it’s better than to type that long name!

The Egyptian Princess: K’e-deu-ra
More like Medulla, LOL (Yes, it’s a joke.)
I’ll just type it without the aspiration and dashes because I can’t think of any English-like for this one. Kedeura.

If you know a better way to write these names, please tell me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] THIS post on name corrections and hiatus […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nankh on February 21, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    Hay,

    I was wondering if you had already come to a decision on what to do with the scangroup? Will your friend be taking over?
    (Since the post was made in August..)

    Oh and not to be a bother, but it’s Ra-me-se-seu, right?
    That’s usually pronounced ‘Ramesses’ after the real royal-line of Egyptian pharaohs..

    – Nankh

    Reply

  3. so, is anyone picking this manhwa/manga up?

    Reply

  4. Posted by ebony on November 10, 2012 at 10:16 PM

    Does your friend live close to you? What is hindering her from answering? Sorry about my pushiness. I just really love Acacia. Also, I can’t imagine how hiatus is. I really wouldn’t like to be in that state either. I wonder you get by in life. I hope you’ll be able to get a job soon.

    Reply

Leave a comment